Am I back in Kindergarten?


Since I’m old enough (or is it smart enough) to have started school straight into Grade One, I missed out on days of tracing and cutting that I assume took place in Kindergarten. I got lots of practice today though as I traced and cut out the pieces for the last five blocks of my applique quilt. I’ve been working on this piece for almost a year and a half and, although those last pieces are cut, I’ll probably still be working on it a year and a half from now.

We had a wonderful turnout at the bee today. Several members dropped in to see what we were up to, and I hope next time more of them will stay to sew. As Sandra pointed out several times today, only four months (and a bit) until Christmas.

A few of the ladies at the bee attended the Texada Artists Studio Tour and Sandra reports that the quilt show event was “beyond fabulous”. I heard Kathy mention how much she enjoyed talking to one of the participating artists. Hopefully the very active group on Texada will make this a regular event.

The Tuesday Sandwich Board

I couple of the programs on my new computer are newer versions than I am used to. A warning: I’m still adjusting to the new photo software (just in case these photos don’t transfer over well).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Guild Events

Door Hangers for Olive Devaud

The hanging can be any size, as long as they fit on a standard door. Adding a sleeve to the back will help with their placement.

Summer Library Hours

Tuesday between 9 AM and 2 PM

Community Quilts

Your offerings for Community Quilts are (always) gladly accepted.

Around Town

Blackberry Festival Street Party – August 17, 2012

Arts Alive in the Park – August 18-19, 2012

Powell River Studio Tours (powellriverartists.com) – August 25-26, 2012

Upcoming Events (Out of Town)

Kelowna Quilt & Fibre Art Show (www.kelownaquilts.com) – September 21-23, 2012

PieceMaking in the Valley Quilt Show (Chilliwack) – October 19-20

Triennial Quilt Show (Penticton) – October 19-20

Stitches from the Heart Quilt Show (Castlegar) – October 19-21

Decade of Quilts (Coquitlam) – October 20-21

Quilt Canada (Penticton) – May 16-18, 2013

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

