How do you keep track


I wasn’t at the bee today, but that doesn’t mean I wasn’t thinking about quilting. I have two Kathaumixw billets from the Manila Chamber Choir and we were kept busy all day driving them here and there (and picking them up from here and there), and feeding them in between.

Since joining the Guild I have learned about UFOs and Flimsies. But is there a cute little name for projects that are underway (but far from complete)? When I started quilting I told myself I was going to work on one thing at a time (that worked for about five weeks). I have been crafting for years and it seems that whatever box, cupboard or drawer I pull out I’m confronted with an unfinished knitting, crocheting, or embroidery project.

In my thoughts today were the two UFOs I have, as well as the six projects I have made some sort of start on. And I won’t even tell you how many kits and patterns I have collected, or the number of patterns I’ve bookmarked on my iPad.

So how do you keep it all straight? Do you look at your projects and work on whatever you feel like? Do you look at your projects and pick something that you can finish in the time you have for sewing at that particular time? Do you live by the calendar and have things that have to get done by such and such a date and therefore that becomes your priority?

Before I get too many more things started, I’d be interested in hearing how you keep track of your quilting projects.

Upcoming Events

Texada Island Studio Tour – August 11-12, 2012

Quilt Canada (Penticton) – May 16-18, 2013

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do you keep track

  1. Nina says:

    Ah Sherri, so glad you have joined in the misery of WIPs. That’s works-in-progress. Of course we all have them. Presently I have waiting in the wings, a log cabin that needs just the right last border,and a bunch of blocks that need to increase to twin size, but I need the right kind of tiny print for the backgrounds, and there’s the collection of creams that I must shop for to finish a pieced border on a third project. There’s 4 sandwiched quilts waiting for machine quilting, and 2 quilt tops waiting for the right kind of backing. And most definately, things change in the priority list depending if they have a deadline. Welcome to the club.

  2. Nina says:

    Oh also forgot to mention………all the rules change when it’s countdown to the guild’s quilt show.Along about Sept 1st, you haul everything off the shelves, rearrange, declutter and then stack the possibile show entries on the table and deliberate. Do I like this? can I get it finished? You find there is a big reshuffle of priorities,show entries,community quilt display, guild challenge, boutique sales.

Leave a Reply

