Getting my feet wet


It’s time to get my feet wet – in a physical sense that hasn’t been difficult to do over the past few days. I have been back from my holiday for a week, but I keep putting off writing this first post. So I’m just going to dive right in.

Nina has left such big shoes to fill that I’m not even going to pretend that I’m capable of the task. I’ve learned a lot of things from the blog over the past couple of years – quilting tips, specifics on certain projects the Guild was working on, upcoming events, reports on past events. I could go on and on, but you already know what I’m talking about.

My postings will attempt to cover some of the things Nina wrote so knowingly about. I’ll try to keep you informed on Guild events, but there certainly will be no useful quilting tips coming from me. If anything, I may vent my quilting frustrations. For example, why does my needle break when I’m free-motion quilting? Is it me (probably) or is it my machine (I’d like to think so)?

But I digress. If there is anything in particular you would like me to write a post about please let me know and I’ll do my best. Or better yet, consider writing an entry yourself and I will see it gets onto the site.

I’m finishing up my Challenge and Cookie Tin Exchange projects for the party on Thursday. I’m looking forward to getting back to the Tuesday sewing group. If you already attend these sessions you know how much fun they are. If you haven’t given it a try yet, why not drop by on Tuesday (9:00 to 3:00).

 

An invitation from the Orchard Valley Quilters Guild

You’re invited to help celebrate our 30th anniversary.  We are pleased to present the Kelowna Quilt & Fibre Art Show Sept 21, 22, 23 in Kelowna BC. Our venues are the Laurel Packinghouse and the Rotary Centre for the Arts in Kelowna’s cultural district.

For further information please log on to our website www.kelownaquilts.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting my feet wet

  1. Shawn Bailey says:

    I think you look pretty darn good with wet feet 🙂 I’m sure you will do just great and I think posting your quilting frustrations can be a good thing to share – makes the rest of us feel not so alone. As for the broken needle??? Yah – probably something you’re doing ( like pulling/pushing the quilt through to fast) rather than the machine. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

