Community Quilt Bee Come One Come All!!


Our community quilt committee ( Yvonne, Gwen and Shirley) are looking forward to not one – BUT TWO whole days of sewing. The donation boxes of scraps and yardage ( from the basement) have been organized , and there is a fresh roll of batting.

I cut 3 pieces of batting today to match my quilt tops and backings. I really prefer to preshrink my cotton batting, so I have it at home but plan to sandwich at the guild. We have cans for spray basting so there is  minimal pinning and  that part can go very quickly.

I have a large box of strings and will be glad to share a quick review of my 2 fav styles of blocks. I have been to the Hospital Aux shop and bought some suitable light weight fabrics for the foundations of string blocks and will have it cut into pieces ready for your projects.

I am hoping to spend my evenings cutting more squares from the scraps and fat quarters. A few people have asked for a project , so I am hoping that we could make lots of half square triangle  building units.

Of course if you have a project in the works – bring it along and if you have more donation fabrics or scraps, we’ll be glad to cut them. I have ziplock baggies all the way from 4″ to 8.5″.

There will be finished projects on display to give you some inspiration. See you Sat.

nina

This entry was posted in Guild Announcements, Guild Events, Guild program activities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

