Wall Hangings for Olive Devaud Residence


As some of you may be aware, Community Quilts has requested members donate (or loan) small wall hangings to be used at Olive Devaud to brighten up and give interest to the stark walls there.  Sherrill has invited members a few times to come along when these small quilts are taken to them.  I rummaged around until I found a couple of small wall hangings that had been taking up space in my linen closet.  Even though I wasn’t sure that I wanted to give them away it sure didn’t make sense to have them stored away either so I donated them.  I finally decided to take 10 minutes out of my day and met with Sherrill and Shirley and I’m very glad that I did.

Sherrill was right, you can see the enjoyment in their faces as the quilts are passed around.  Some just enjoy looking at something pretty and others touch the fabrics, comment on them and eagerly reach for the next one .  I even noticed at least one gentlemen there.  (OK – I’m not too sure if his enjoyment was of the quilts or being surrounded by so many lovely ladies 🙂

The activities director asked if it would be possible to have some Valentine theme quilts   to put up or maybe some lively spring colours.  We said that we would try.  I’m sure that   the Guild membership can come up with something. If you can, please bring something to the business meeting in February and one of us will make sure it gets to where it needs to be.

This entry was posted in show and tell. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

