To Sort or Not To Sort


At the String Quilt class, we had a discussion about sorting scraps or winging it with the next bit that you picked up. I am in the sorting category , as I like my brights and lights separate from my earthly, somber shades. I like my really busy crazy prints separate from my solids, and tone on tones.

I think there is new appreciation for scraps and what can be done with them. I have heard that a few students have gone crazy and made dozens of blocks since Sat.so we should see some projects completed.  Alice thinks the family needs new throw pillows on the couch , and Lo was sandwiching her project for the community quilt bin on Tues.


Donna used the straight squares design.


Gay used the double diagonal design.


Joan used the diagonal variation.


Alice used a double diagonal with two colourways.


Marlene used batiks in this square variation.


Lo’s square variation.


Shirley’s diagonal variation and as you can see Shirley is a strong believer in NO sorting!!


Kathy’s diagonal variation using blues with a hint of lime!

This entry was posted in show and tell. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Sort or Not To Sort

  1. Shawn says:

    Wow! Sounds like a great time was had by all 🙂 Can’t wait to see the finished tops.

Leave a Reply

