Do you miss it?


Well, I’m talking about the guild newsletter. It’s been almost a year since we have published a newsletter. We ceased publication for lack of an editor- how sad!
At tonight’s business meeting, there was a very good discussion about lack of communications in the guild.
I listened and thought that a lot of the items mentioned could have been discussed, described,elaborated upon in a newsletter and then members would have been able to have the information at their finger tips.

I don’t think a blog is a good replacement for a newsletter, but it does have a function that is useful , such as last minute changes to programs, schedules or classes.

Many years ago when I was program chairman, I published a monthly bulletin. This was one page( double sided) with all the events of the month. I can provide some samples at the May meeting .
I would like to pass on any feedback to our new executive and program committee if you wish to leave a comment.
The multi-page newsletter is a major undertaking, and the editor and contributors often felt they were just talking to themselves, with no feedback and no guest articles submitted without severe twisting of arms.

I am not optimistic that we could publish a newsletter again, but am willing to bet that there is a need for a monthly bulletin to keep people up to date on guild doings.
Now I will bring up this discussion at the May meeting,but in the meantime could you vote for:


Just scroll down and leave a message in the box below, follow the prompts.

This entry was posted in Guild Announcements, Notices. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do you miss it?

  1. mslibra says:

    I like the idea of a monthly bulletin as I agree in that I don’t think we could get a quarterly newsletter going. If TQG continues to grow that may be something for the future. I regularly check this blog because I subscribed to the RSS feed but if a member doesn’t think to check for updates then the monthly bulletin is the answer!
    Shawn

  2. Timberlane Quilters' Guild says:

    Hi Shawn, I will let you read the archived bulletins when we get together for that mini computer lesson. But for any other guild member – I’ll be glad to let you read them before next month’s meeting. Just let me know.

  3. BCQuilter says:

    Would this bulletin be something the Program Committee would be providing?

    -Alice

  4. Timberlane Quilters' Guild says:

    The previous bulletins were the program committee’s responsibility. I’m thinking a added person on the committee could be responsible for only that and nothing else.

Leave a Reply

