October Demo night – great success


Did you miss the binding class tonight?

Maybe you’d already viewed the online video?……….Hope so!

BUT if you thought that you already knew how to do a mitered corner binding AND you stayed home because you assumed that there was nothing you could learn at tonight’s demo and video……….well you are WRONG!!! 

There were at least 12 innovative hints that we learned and all of us felt humbled , but eager to incorporate this new set of ideas into our bindings. This was a extremely inportant class to have just as we are all finishing projects for the quilt show.

 

I can assure you that I will keep my can of starch in a much more convenient spot, the elmer’s school glue will also be close at hand, and I will be setting up a much better pressing station on my sewing table so that I can handle the larger projects.

 

I will put Sharon Schamber’s links in the right hand side bar for quick reference. Remember that Alice will be presenting 2 evenings ( Jan &Feb 2009) to talk about the internet, and I’m sure that she will explain at that time the types of websites like Sharon’s 2nd one that is a subscription or membership. I belong to several different types of these subscription only websites and find them very worthwhile. I get a lot for my money. In the case of sharon’s website, there are short films with informative topics offered on a regular basis.

This entry was posted in Guild Events, Guild program activities. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October Demo night – great success

  1. BCQuilter says:

    Thanks Nina,

    It was a good night. I was a little apprehensive at first, but quickly overcame that.

    Even one of the participants came up with a great idea.

    I have mentioned it to a few of those that were there, that if they wanted an unstructured night for questions and answers, including how to do the ladder stitch I would be available to do that.

    I am looking forward to hearing more feedback, and how the guild members progress through their bindings now.

    -Alice

  2. BCQuilter says:

    Oh, I forgot to mention… the videos are also available on my blog. Click the link to the right hand side of the main TQ blog – BCQuilter – Alice. (Click on the picture at the top to take you back to the main page).

    -Alice

  3. Valerie says:

    Glad to hear it all went well…it’s like anything that we’ve been doing for a very long time, we can always use a refresher and learn a thing or two along the way.

Leave a Reply

